Tourism Malaysia

Royal Langkawi International Regatta 2012

January 9, 2012 at 12:30 pm

It is that time of the year again where fans of yacht racing flock to Langkawi in Kedah to catch the premier sailing event of Asia, the Royal Langkawi International Regatta. This event will begin on 9th January and will go on until 14th January 2012. This year marks the 10th regatta to be organised by the Royal Langkawi Yacht Club since it started in 2003. Langkawi will also be the host once again for the many different classes of competition, including the Racing Class, IRC Class, Sports Boat, Multihull, Club Cruising and Ocean Rover.

Langkawi is set to host Asia’s premier sailing event – the Royal Langkawi International Regatta 2012

This year’s race will be preceded by a curtain-raiser, the Ao Chalong – Langkawi ‘Champagne Run’ which will kick off on 7th January 2012 from Ao Chalong Yacht Club, Ao Chalong Bay in Phuket, Thailand to Telaga Harbour in Langkawi, Kedah. The teams that will be competing in this year’s regatta will be vying for the Prime Minister’s Challenge Trophy (for participants of internationally registered yachts), the Commodore’s Challenge Cup (for participants of club-registered cruisers), the LADA-IRC Challenge Trophy (for participants of the IRC 1 Class), the Langkawi Sports Trophy (for participants in the Sports Boat Class) and the Malaysian Multihull Challenge Cup (for participants under the Multihull category).

For more information on racing schedules and also about the Royal Langkawi International Regatta, please log on to the main website here.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *